Limits and Specifications
- Teams a user can create: 250
- Number of teams a user can be a member of: 1,000
- Number of members in a team: 10,000
- Number of channels per Team: 200
- Number of Private channels per team: 30
- Number of members in a Private channel: 250
- Meeting participants: 300
A full list of limits and specifications can be found on Microsoft's website.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I access Teams in an internet browser?
Yes, however for the best experience, we recommend you use the Teams desktop application. If you elect to use an internet browser, we recommend Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge to ensure critical features are compatible and available.
Can I create a team without a group?
You can add a team to an existing group. Creating a new team will also create a group.
What happens when a team is deleted?
Any content associated with that team is also deleted. If a deleted team contains a plan, these items will also be deleted.
What is the difference between public and private?
All team content is only visible to members of the team. Private teams require an invitation to join while public teams are open for anyone to join.
What is the difference between live captions and live transcription?
- Live captions: Teams can detect what’s said in a meeting and present real-time captions. Captions are not saved and are not available after a meeting has concluded.
- Live transcription: Teams can detect what’s said in a meeting and presents a real-time transcript. Text appears alongside the meeting video or audio, including the speaker's name. After the meeting, the saved transcript is available for reference and download.
Can I use breakout rooms in Teams?
Yes! Learn how to create and manage breakout rooms during a meeting.
Can I restrict who has access to email a team?
No, anyone at WMU is able to email a team. If you need to control access, please use a mailing list.
Can I delete messages within a channel of a team?
You can only delete individual messages you have posted. Deleting a channel in a team will delete all messages in that channel.
Can I delete messages within the conversations of a team?
You can only delete individual messages you have sent. Team conversation threads can not be deleted.
What happens when a team owner's account is removed?
If a team has no owner, members are unable to self-promote a new owner. Please submit a request to have a new owner appointed.
How do I place an audio or video call?
Many of the calling features in a team require the Teams desktop app.
Can someone outside of WMU join my team?
Yes, you can invite guests (non-WMU accounts) to join your team. If your guest does not already have a Microsoft account, they can create one using their existing email address. Once you've added a guest, they can access your Team at https://teams.microsoft.com/.
How long can I use a team that I create?
A team will be eligible for deletion after one year of inactivity. The Team owner will be contacted before a Team is deleted.
Can I archive or restore a team that I created?
Can I set a virtual background on my video?
Yes, instructions for setting a virtual background can be found here.