- Teams a user can create: 250
- Number of members: 5,000
- Private chat participants: 50
- Meeting participants: 250
- Number of channels per Team: 200
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I access Teams in an internet browser?
Yes, however for the best experience, we recommend you use the Teams desktop application. If you elect to use an internet browser, we recommend Google Chrome or the New Microsoft Edge to ensure critical features are available.
Can I create a team without a group?
You can add a team to an existing group. Creating a new team will also create a group.
What happens when a team is deleted?
Any content associated with that team is also deleted. If a deleted team contains a plan, these items will also be deleted.
What is the difference between public and private?
All team content is only visible to members of the team. Private teams require an invitation to join while public teams are open for anyone to join.
Can I restrict who has access to email a team?
No, anyone at WMU is able to email a team. If you need to control access, please use a mailing list.
Can I delete messages within a channel of a team?
You can only delete individual messages you have posted. Deleting a channel in a team will delete all messages in that channel.
Can I delete messages within the conversations of a team?
You can only delete individual messages you have sent. Team conversation threads can not be deleted.
What happens when a team owner's account is removed?
If a team has no owner, members are unable to self-promote a new owner. Please Submit a Request to have a new owner appointed.
How do I place an audio or video call?
Many of the calling features in a team require the Teams desktop app.
Can someone outside of WMU join my team?
Yes, you can invite guests to join your team. If your guest does not already have an Office 365 account, they can sign up for a free Teams account. Once you've added a guest, they can access your Team at https://teams.microsoft.com/.
How long can I use a team that I create?
A Team will be eligible for deletion after one year of inactivity. The Team owner will be contacted before a Team is deleted.
Can I archive or restore a team that I created?
Can I change my background?
Yes, instructions for setting a virtual background can be found here.